Friday,12 August 2022
Euro-Ibero-American space for dialogue on social, professional and academic innovation
HomeSociety and CultureCultureThe European media foundations awards
The European Press Prize Foundation

The European media foundations awards

The Panel of Judges of the European Press Prize 2012 has selected winners in four categories. In the first year of its existence, winning entries came from Denmark, Greece, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

The European Press Prize Foundation announced  the winning entries in its four categories, expressing delight about both the large number of entries received in this first year of its existence and their excellent overallquality.

Seven of Europe´s leading media foundations have joined forces to launch the European Press Prize to reward excellence in journalism across all 47 countries of Europe.

News Reporting Award

In the News Reporting category, the Award was won by three reporters from Danish daily Jyllands  Posten, Orla Borg, Carsten Ellegaard Christensen and Morten Pihl for their groundbreaking investigative reporting project on Morten Storm, a former agent of the Danish Secret Service.

In a series of articles, they exposed how Storm helped the CIA locate Al-Qaida leader Anwar alAwlaki, who was subsequently killed by an American drone attack in Yemen. The story received wide  coverage in the U.S. and Europe and fed a crucial debate on the role of European countries in the U.S. ´war on terror.´ Simply, when is it right for states and their agents to kill?

Commentator Award

In the Commentator category, the Award goes to Nikos Chrysolorasfrom Greece, for his article ‘Why  Greece must remain in the Eurozone’, published in papers across Europe. Chrysoloras, the Brussels  correspondent for the Greek daily Kathimerini, makes a passionate plea for his country to stay in the  Eurozone. Analysing the supposed reasons for Greece’s current financial and economic woes, he  denounces the call for a Greek exit by ‘pundits, the broadsheet press columnists and experts … who claim to know the remedy for a country which they have rarely, if ever, visited and who have no  knowledge of its economic and social history’.

Editing Award

In the Editing category, the Award is won by Ihor Pochynok, Chief Editor of ‘Express’ a daily  newspaper published in Lviv in the Ukraine. Express is a prime example of a local newspaper  becoming the opinion leader of its region and assuming at times a national role. Unabashedly  political, though not connected to any of the parties, Express went on the barricades during th Orange Revolution, but had no hesitation in criticising the incompetence and corruption of the  Yushchenko Timoshenko government which ensued. It has made enemies in all Ukrainian  governments, frequently facing demands to assume a less critical stance – but nevertheless breaking  investigative stories that shrug off such pressure.

Innovation Award

In the Innovation category, the Award goes to Paul Lewisfrom the United Kingdom, Special Projects  Editor of The Guardian in London, for his project ‘Reading the Riots’. Together with Professor Tim  Newburn from the London School of Economics and 30 researchers, Lewis launched a year-long  research study into the causes of the summer riots in England in 2011. He analysed the mechanisms  which led to both the violence and its rapid spread from the capital to other major towns and cities in Britain. It seriously questioned many assumptions about the riots, from the role of social media to  the involvement of criminal gangs. Combining investigative journalism and scientific methodology,  Lewis developed a unique new approach to investigative journalism, which may prove to become a powerful weapon for other journalists attempting to uncover increasingly complex and sophisticated social developments.

Of interest